SP-MIRECC (VISN 21) Staff - MIRECC / CoE
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

MIRECC / CoE

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

SP-MIRECC (VISN 21) Staff

Our Team

Leadership

Investigators

Fellows

Support Staff

Leadership

Dr. Jerome Yesavage

Jerome Yesavage, MD
Director, VISN 21 MIRECC
650-852-3233
Jerome.yesavage@va.gov
yesavage@stanford.edu
Interests: Dementia, depression, clinical trials, implementation

Jennifer Kaci Fairchild, PhD

Jennifer Kaci Fairchild, PhD
Associate Director, VISN 21 MIRECC
Director, Palo Alto PhD Fellowship
650-493-5000 ext. 63432
JenniferKaci.Fairchild@va.gov
jkaci@stanford.edu
Interests: Activity-based interventions; neuroplasticity; mild cognitive impairment (MCI)

Sherry Beaudreau, PhD, ABPP

Sherry Beaudreau, PhD, ABPP Director, National VA Advanced Fellowship Program
650-493-5000 ext. 64119
Sherry.Beaudreau@va.gov
sherryb@stanford.edu
Interests: older adults, suicide prevention, anxiety, depression, cognition

Jauhtai Joseph Cheng, MD

Jauhtai Joseph Cheng, MD
Director, Dementia Clinical Unit
jauhtai.cheng2@va.gov
jauhtaic@stanford.edu
Interests: Non-invasive brain stimulation, interaction between electromagnetic field and biological system, Alzheimer’s disease, effect of brain stimulation on brain structure and cognitive function

Thomas Neylan, MD

Thomas Neylan, MD
Research Director, VISN 21 MIRECC 
Director, PTSD Clinical Unit
415-750-6961
Thomas.Neylan@va.gov
Interests: PTSD, dementia, sleep

Allyson Rosen, PhD, ABPP-Cn

Allyson Rosen, PhD, ABPP-Cn
Director, Dementia Education & Implementation Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 68035
Allyson.Rosen@va.gov
rosena@stanford.edu
Interests: aging, dementia, neuromodulation, neuroimaging, neuropsychology

Leanne Williams, PhD

Leanne Williams, PhD
Director, PTSD Education & Implementation Unit
Director, Precision Medicine Research Core
650-723-3579
leawilliams@stanford.edu
Interests: Precision medicine, neuroimaging, biotypes, PTSD, depression, TMS, pharmacotherapy, exploratory therapeutics

 

Investigators

Research Core Directors
Andrea Goldstein-Piekarski, PhD

Andrea Goldstein-Piekarski, PhD
Director, Sleep Research Core
Clinical Researcher, PTSD Clinical Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 65436
agoldpie@stanford.edu
Interests: sleep deprivation, brain, memory

Joachim Hallmayer, MD

Joachim Hallmayer, MD
Director, Neurochemistry Research Core
Co-Director, VA Advanced Fellowship, National Coordinating Site
joachimh@stanford.edu
Interests: genotype, genetic linkage, genetic predisposition to disease

Laura Lazzeroni, PhD

Laura Lazzeroni, PhD
Director, Biostatistics Research Core
lazzeroni@stanford.edu
Interests: Biostatistics in mental health and cognition, statistical genetics, and genomics

Craig Rosen, PhD

Craig Rosen, PhD
Director, Health Services Research Core
650-493-5000 x22812
Craig.Rosen@va.gov
Crosen@stanford.edu

Michael Weiner, MD

Michael Weiner, MD
Director, Neuroimaging Research Core
ADNI & Brain Health Registry
415-221-4810 ext. 23642
Michael.Weiner@ucsf.edu
Interests:
Alzheimer’s disease, imaging, biomarkers

Julie C. Weitlauf, PhD Julie C. Weitlauf, PhD
Director, Women’s Mental Health & Aging Research Core
Clinical Researcher, PTSD Clinical Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 23429
julie.weitlauf@va.govwjulie1@stanford.edu
Interests: PTSD, trauma and sexual functioning, post-menopausal health, cognitive aging, women’s sexual health and functioning
Kristine Yaffe, MD Kristine Yaffe, MD
Director, Epidemiology / Risk Factors Research Core
415-221-4810 ext. 3790
Kristine.Yaffe@va.gov
Kristine.Yaffe@ucsf.edu
Interests:
dementia; brain health; epidemiology; military-related risk factors; modifiable risk factors; social determinants of health
Jamie Zeitzer, PhD

Jamie Zeitzer, PhD (Stanford profile)
Director, Chronobiology Research Core
650-493-5000 ext. 62410
jzeitzer@stanford.edu
Interests: sleep, circadian, light, actigraphy, TBI


Principal Investigators

Steven Chao, MD

Steven Chao, MD
Clinical Researcher, Dementia Clinical Unit
Steven.Chao3@va.gov
Interests: TBI, MCI, Dementia, headache and COVID related cognitive issues

Tim Durazzo, PhD

Tim Durazzo, PhD
Clinical Researcher, PTSD Clinical Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 62982
Timothy.Durazzo@va.gov
Interests: neuroimaging, repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation, cigarette smoking, neurocognition, alcohol use disorder

Raquel Gardner, MD

Raquel Gardner, MD
Investigator, Epidemiology / Risk Factors Research Core
415-221-4810 ext. 3129
Raquel.Gardner@va.gov
Interests: traumatic brain injury, aging, neurodegeneration

Laura Hack, MD, PhD

Laura Hack, MD, PhD
Investigator, Precision Medicine Research Core
650-493-5000 ext. 61911
Laura.hack@va.gov
lhack@stanford.edu
Interests: precision psychiatry, treatment resistant depression, repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS); ketamine and other psychedelics

Corey Keller, MD, PhD

Corey Keller, MD, PhD
Investigator, PTSD Clinical Unit
corey.keller@va.gov
ckeller1@stanford.edu
Interests: TMS, EEG, depression

Lisa Kinoshita, PhD Lisa Kinoshita, PhD
Clinical Researcher, Dementia Clinical Unit
Lisa.Kinoshita@va.gov

 

Erica S. Kornblith, PhD

Erica S. Kornblith, PhD
Investigator, Epidemiology / Risk Factors Research Core
415-221-4810 ext. 24125
Erica.Kornblith@va.gov
Erica.Kornblith@ucsf.edu
Interests: traumatic brain injury, cognitive aging, telehealth

Scott Mackin, PhD

Scott Mackin, PhD
Neuropsychologist, Neuroimaging Research Core
415-221-4810 ext. 26463
Scott.Mackin@ucsf.edu

Michelle Madore, PhD

Michelle Madore, PhD
Co-Director, Palo Alto PhD VA Advanced Fellowship
650-493-5000 ext. 64221
Michelle.Madore@va.gov
Interests: Neuromodulation, teleneuropsychology, cognition

Shira Maguen, PhD

Shira Maguen, PhD
Director, San Francisco PhD VA Advanced Fellowship
Fellowship Director, PTSD Clinical Unit
415-221-4810 ext. 22511
Shira.Maguen@va.gov
Interests: PTSD, veterans, suicide, health services

Ruth O'Hara, PhD

Ruth O’Hara, PhD
Co-Director, Neurochemistry Research Core
Co-Director, Palo Alto PhD VA Advanced Fellowship
roh@stanford.edu
Interests: aging, cognition disorders, neuropsychological tests

Michael Ostacher, MD

Michael Ostacher, MD
Director, Palo Alto MD VA Advanced Fellowship
Michael.Ostacher@va.gov

Claudia Padula, PhD

Claudia Padula, PhD
Clinical Researcher, PTSD Clinical Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 61640
Claudia.Padula@va.gov
Interests: addiction, alcohol use disorder, sex differences, functional neuroimaging and relapse risk

Viktoriya Samarina, PhD

Viktoriya Samarina, PhD
Co-Director, VA Advanced Fellowship, National Coordinating Site
650-493-5000 ext. 64268
Viktoriya.Samarina@va.gov
Interests: cognition, neuropsychological assessment, neurodegenerative disorders, aging, dementia

Joy Taylor, PhD

Joy Taylor, PhD
Clinical Researcher, Dementia Clinical Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 63102
Joy.Taylor@va.gov
joy@stanford.edu
Interests: MCI, AD biomarkers, TMS

Jong Yoon, PhD

Jong Yoon, PhD
Investigator, PTSD Clinical Unit
650-493-5000 ext. 64335
jong.yoon@va.gov
jhyoon1@stanford.edu
Interests: neuroimaging, psychosis, repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS)

 

Fellows

Palo Alto Site
Azeezat Azeez, PhD

Azeezat Azeez, PhD
3rd Year Fellow
azeezat.azeez@va.gov
Interests: fMRI, neuroimaging, data science, TMS

Sarah Hagerty, PhD

Sarah Hagerty, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
sarah.hagerty@va.gov
Interests: precision assessment and treatment, PTSD, threat regulation, dimensional models of psychopathology

Agieszka Kalinowski, PhD

Agnieszka Kalinowski, PhD
3rd Year Fellow
agnieszka.kalinowski@va.gov
Interests: schizophrenia, neuroimmunology, neurodevelopment

Peter Louras, PhD

Peter Louras, PhD
1st Year Fellow
650-493-5000 ext. 68957
peter.louras@va.gov
Interests: rehabilitation, clinical research, cognitive impairment, health, fitness

Peter Johannes van Roessel, PhD

Peter Johannes van Roessel, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
650-721-5896
pvanroessel@stanford.edu
Interests: sleep deprivation, brain, memory obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), health anxiety, clinical insight, neurocognition, pharmacotherapies

Jessica Marie Ross, PhD

Jessica Marie Ross, PhD
1st Year Fellow
Jessica.Ross1@va.gov
Interests: aging, cognition, action-perception, neurophysiology, transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS), electroencephalography (EEG)

Nicole Walker, PsyD

Nicole Walker, PsyD
1st Year Fellow
650 493-5000 ext. 69650
nicole.walker1@va.gov
Interests: rTMS, Cognition, Depression, PTSD, Older Adults


San Francisco Site 

Catherine Baxley, PhD

Catherine Baxley, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
415-221-4810, ext. 22902
Catherine.baxley1@va.gov
Interests: Opioid use disorder, buprenorphine, motivational interviewing, chronic pain

Meredith Bock, PhD

Meredith Bock, PhD
1st Year Fellow
meredith.bock@va.gov
Interests: movement disorders; Parkinson's disease; cognitive disorders

Emily Dolsen, PhD

Emily Dolsen, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
415-221-4810 ext. 23559
emily.dolsen@va.gov
Interests: suicide, LGBTQ+ mental health, sleep, PTSD

Jennifer A. Eastman, PhD

Jennifer A. Eastman, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
415-273-9363
Jennifer.Eastman@va.gov
Interests: neuropsychology, aging, cognition, cancer

Jessica Hua, PhD

Jessica Hua, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
415-221-4810 ext. 26403
Jessica.Hua@va.gov
Interests: schizophrenia, psychosis, magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI), electroencephalography (EEG)

Michelle Kassel, PhD

Michelle Kassel, PhD
2nd Year Fellow
415-221-4810 ext. 24525
Michelle.Kassel@va.gov
Interests: neuropsychology, aging, mood disorders, cognitive control, fMRI, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI)

Kristin Nishimi, PhD, MPH

Kristin Nishimi, PhD, MPH
2nd Year Fellow
415-221-4810 ext. 26349
Kristen.Nishimi@va.gov
Interests: PTSD, trauma, epidemiology, physical comorbidity

Rachel M. Ranney, PhD

Rachel M. Ranney, PhD
1st Year Fellow
415-221-4810 ext. 22488
Rachel.Ranney@va.gov
Interests: PTSD, treatment access, evidence-based psychotherapy

Sara Timtim, MD

Sara Timtim, MD
1st Year Fellow
shtimtim@health.ucsd.edu
Interests: white matter microstructural changes in PTSD

Support Staff

ADMINISTRATION UNIT
Edward Wakabayashi
MIRECC VISN 21 Administrator
Edward.Wakabayashi@va.gov
650-493-5000 ext. 68035
DEMENTIA CLINICAL UNIT
Pauline Luu
Systems Analyst
Pauline.Luu@va.gov
650-493-5000 x63102
PTSD CLINICAL UNIT
Catherine Castile
Research Assistant
kcastile@stanford.edu
650-493-5000 x68035
Katherine Grisanzio, PhD
Research Coordinator
kgrisanzio@stanford.edu
415-684-3073
Jennifer Hlavin
Laboratory Manager
Jennifer.Hlavin@va.gov
415-750-6624
Thomas Metzler
Biostatistician
Thomas.Metzler@va.gov
415-221-4810 ext. 23082
Leslie Ruoff
PTSD Sleep Core Manager
Leslie.Ruoff@va.gov
415-781-9106
Anna West
Research Psychologist
Anna.West1@va.gov
415-684-3073
BIOSTATISTICS RESEARCH CORE
Beatriz Hernandez
Data Manager
Beatriz.hernandez@va.gov
650-493-5000 ext. 65740
Arthur Noda
Data Manager
Arthur.Noda@va.gov
650-493-5000 ext. 64493
EPIDEMIOLOGY / RISK FACTORS RESEARCH CORE
Paulina Amaya
Research Coordinator
Maria-Paulina.Amaya@va.gov
415-221-4810 ext. 5197
Tina Hoang, MPH
Lab Manager
tina.hoang@va.gov
415-221-4810 ext. 3792
Carrie Peltz, PhD
Research Coordinator
carrie.peltz2@va.gov
415-221-4810 ext. 23286
HEALTH SERVICES RESEARCH CORE
Mark Greenbaum
Data Analyst / Coordinator
Mark.Greenbaum@va.gov
650-493-5000 x22115
NEUROCHEMISTRY RESEARCH CORE
Phoebe Liao
Lab Technician
Phoebe.Liao@va.gov
Xiaoyan Lin
Lab Technician
tropical@stanford.edu
650-723-0056
NEUROIMAGING RESEARCH CORE
Monica Camacho
Project Manager
Monica.Camacho@ucsf.edu
415-221-4810 ext. 24317
Derek Flenniken
IT Director
Derek.Flenniken@ucsf.edu
415-221-4810 ext. 23668
Jacqueline Hayes
Recruitment Coordinator
Jacqueline.Hayes@va.gov
415-221-4810 ext. 24593
Jackie Jay-Farmer
Finance / Administration
Jackie.Jay-Farmer@ucsf.edu
415-221-4810 ext. 26465
Diana Truran Sacrey
Director, Imaging & Brain Health Registry
Diana.Truran@ucsf.edu
diana.sacrey@va.gov
415-221-4810 ext. 23078
PRECISION MEDICINE RESEARCH CORE
Anna Boken
Data Manager
aboken@stanford.edu
650-497-5137
Nancy Gray
Research Coordinator
njgray@stanford.edu
650-736-6260
Timothy Lyons
Senior Data Analyst
timlyons@stanford.edu
SLEEP RESEARCH CORE
Abigail Cirelli
Research Assistant
acirelli@stanford.edu
650-493-5000 ext. 60584
Mateo Lopez
Research Assistant
mateo.lopez@stanford.edu
mateo.lopez@va.gov
650-493-5000 ext. 60584
Allison Morehouse
Laboratory Manager
amorehse@stanford.edu
allison.morehouse@va.gov
650-493-5000 ext. 60584
Raquel Osorno, PhD
Research Psychologist
raquelo@stanford.edu
650-493-5000 ext. 60584
WOMEN’S MENTAL HEALTH & AGING RESEARCH CORE
Natara Garovoy
Program Manager
Natara.Garovoy@va.gov

Return to Home page